Help


+
Collocation
Ask AI3: What is vegetarian?
Votes: 1 promote
Edit
Promote Demote Fix Punctuation

Sentences

Judge Black, the vegetarian black snake ; ;
Calling themselves a " consociate family ", they agreed to follow a strict vegetarian diet and to till the land without the use of animal labor.
While many of Alcott's ideas continue to be perceived as being on the liberal / radical edge, they are still common themes in society, including vegetarian / veganism, sustainable living, and temperance / self-control.
* Bronson Alcott: A glimpse at our vegetarian heritage, by Karen Iacobbo
Many Chinatown areas also feature Chinese bakeries, boba milk tea shops, roasted meat, vegetarian cuisine, and specialized dessert shops.
Agar ( agar-agar ) can be used as a laxative, an appetite suppressant, vegetarian gelatin substitute, a thickener for soups, in fruit preserves, ice cream, and other desserts, as a clarifying agent in brewing, and for sizing paper and fabrics.
She became a vegetarian and raised three million francs to fund the foundation by auctioning off jewellery and many personal belongings.
However, Daniel was able to convince the King to allow for a vegetarian diet.
It now once again makes Bovril using beef extract and a chicken variety using chicken extract, although the vegetarian formula is still sold in some countries, such as Australia and Hong Kong.
" 9: 2 If the passage in Isaiah is interpreted literally, a return to the vegetarian diet of Eden seems to be a natural conclusion. Gen 1: 29-30
Teochew cuisine is particularly well known for its seafood and vegetarian dishes and is commonly regarded as being healthy.
It is primarily vegetarian, in order to keep with the general Buddhist precept of ahimsa ( non-violence ).
Parts of Ancient India and Nepal where Buddhism originated were also for long periods Buddhist, and whether as a result of the Buddhist, Jain or Hindu promotion of the principle of ahimsa ( harmlessness ) many Indians remain vegetarian.
Vegetarian cuisine is known as zhāicài ("( Buddhist ) vegetarian food ") in China, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Singapore and Taiwan ; đồ chay in Vietnam ; in Japan ; sachal eumsik (" temple food ") in Korea and by other names in many countries.
East Asian " Buddhist " cuisine differs from Western vegetarian cuisine in one aspect, that is avoidance of killing plant life.
The food that a strict Buddhist takes, even if not a vegetarian, is also specific.
Buddhist vegetarian chefs have become extremely creative in imitating meat using prepared wheat gluten, also known as " seitan " or " wheat meat ", soy ( such as tofu or tempeh ), agar, and other plant products.
Some of these Buddhist vegetarian chefs are in the many monasteries which serve wu hun and mock-meat ( also known as ' meat analogues ') dishes to the monks and visitors ( including non-Buddhists who often stay for a few hours or days, to Buddhists who are not monks, but staying overnight for anywhere up to weeks or months ).
Many Buddhist restaurants also serve vegetarian, vegan, non-alcoholic, and / or wu hun dishes.
Some Buddhists eat vegetarian only once per week or month, or on special occasions such as annual visits to an ancestor's grave.
To cater to this type of customer, as well as full-time vegetarians, the menu of a Buddhist vegetarian restaurant usually shows no difference from a typical Chinese or far-Eastern restaurant, except that in recipes originally made to contain meat, a chicken flavoured soy or wheat gluten might be served instead.
Rice and Chenopodium album leaf curry with onions and potatoes ; a vegetarian curry dish.
They may instead be entirely vegetarian, especially among those for whom there are religious proscriptions against eating meat or seafood.
Chicago features a wide selection of vegetarian cuisine, with 22 fully vegetarian restaurants and many vegetarian-friendly establishments within the city.

0.037 seconds.